What is Fortified & What Does It Mean For Me?

FORTIFIED Home™ is a set of engineering and building standards designed to help strengthen new and existing homes through system-specific building upgrades to minimum building code requirements that will reduce damage from specific natural hazards. The FORTIFIED Home™ program has three levels of designation—Bronze, Silver and Gold—that build upon each other

    • Resiliency – makes sure houses will stay standing longer
    • Building codes are the minimum acceptable standard. We want to make sure you have a house to come back to after a disaster.
  • Ways to fortify your roof:
    • Ring shank nails
    • Sealing the roof deck
    • Strapping roof to the house
  • How to get FORTIFIED?
    • Step 1: Apply
    • Step 2: Schedule evaluation (3rd party trained by Insurance Institute for Business &Home Safety)
    • Step 3: Evaluation – FORTIFIED sends you a current condition report
    • Step 4: Review
    • Step 5: Take action
    • Step 6: Get designated. Designation is valid for 5 years
  • Alabama incentives – large discounts on insurance if you FORTIFY. These are state mandated discounts for admitted carriers.
    • Bronze – 20-35% discount on wind premium
    • Silver – 35 – 45% discount on wind premium
    • Gold – 40 – 50% discount on wind premium

For more information,


Share this post